R A M B L I N G

Photobucket


CURRENT

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

EMAIL ME

D-LAND NOTES

BLOG HOST

IM AGE

DESIGN BASED ON
















MY FATHER

MY FATHER

My father is asleep when I phone him

Yesterday afternoon at 2:30PM � to say hello,

After many weeks. I feel obligated �

He doesn�t feel anything � �Just tired,�

he says - �Same as always.�

I ask him how he�s feeling.

�With my hands,� he says.

I ask him what he�s been up to.

�Not a hell of a lot,� he says.

I ask him if he�s heard from brother.

�Haven�t seen him in weeks,� he says � �You?�

�Months,� I say. �He works too hard.�

�I worry about him,� he says. �Too shy �

probably never meet a girl and get married.�

�Do you worry about me?�

�Not really,� he says.

�Always knew you could take care of yourself.�

Silence.

�Sometimes I wish

somebody would worry about me �

I don�t trust men.�

Silence.

He doesn�t ask me what I mean by this,

He knows.

I ask my father, �How�s your job?�

�It�s just a job,� he says �

�I push a broom around in an elementary school �

at night � dreaming � I�m somewhere else.�

�I understand,� I say.

�I sit in production meetings all day �

watching other people realizing their dreams.�

�Too bad you gave up on the acting,� he says.

�You were going to be an actress � make your mother proud.�

Silence.

�Too bad you gave up on your family,� I say.

�You were my father � you turned your back on me.�

Silence.

�Well I gotta run,� I tell him.

�Got a meeting to get to.�

�Me too,� he says,

�Got to get to work.�

�Bye�

�Bye.�

�Love you�

Silence.


|

last - next